800-441-7997

Call Us Toll Free


main-profile

New Michigan Law Allows Bikers to Ride Without Helmets

A new law in Michigan will allow motorcyclists to ride without helmets for the first time in 50 years.

The bill was signed into law this week by Governor Rick Snyder.

The law now allows motorcyclists who are at least 21 years of age, have a minimum of $20,000 in medical coverage on their insurance policy, and have passed a safety course within the previous two years, to ride without a helmet.

The bill was opposed by insurance companies and health care providers, who argued that it would result in increased deaths and serious injuries, as well as increased insurance rates.

A police spokesman said it will be difficult for officers to enforce the law because motorcyclists who meet all of the conditions are not required to display any kind of special plate or sticker to indicate that they are allowed by law to ride without a helmet.